4 way active ,passive or what works best

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Diy

This is my first speaker project ,I have a habit of biting of more than I can chew when it comes to projects :xeye: :) .
This project has been going for a number of years now ,life just gets in the way more often than not . I'm also building the electronics from frontend to amps which doesn't help .Plus I have no real electronics knowledge :eek:.Plus the room it self needs a bit of acoustic treatment .I was a its all about the front end ,but over the years I feel its more speaker ,xover room interaction .

Any here's a novice approache to speaker design and build :) .

The design ,seperate bass cab's to the mid section so I can move them around and swap out the top section for a Synergy horn ,designed by Paul Spencer ,but thats another project :).
Red Spade Audio: Synergy horn flat pack kit
Midrangecabbasscab.png

Drivers ,I've heard the Raven tweeters a number of times and I really like how they sound & they sound really nice with PHL's .Bought the drivers from Pat @ War Audio in Perth ,Australia . Pat has been very helpful over the years .
IMG_2511.jpg

PHL's , 1120 6.5"mid , PHL 3020 10" lower mid , PHL 5021 15" bass driver.
IMG_5435.jpg

IMG_2507.jpg

IMG_5436.jpg

CHeers

Cab's & Baffles

I wanted large round overs on the corners and a triangle shape cab ,so with toe in the cabs don't look as wide .Also hoping for less defraction on the edge's .
I looked at making a sub frame then wrap it in multiple layers of bendy ply .I found a supplier who would guaranty a 100mm radius with there ply .I was having a chat with a cabinet maker who also built speaker ,Andrew W. from Aslan Acoustic about my project and he offered to CNC the cabs for me .He also machined the front baffles ,which he loved doing :p not.I think 12 months latter the swarf was still appearing .