DPDT Switches for Electrical Phase Reversals from a Crossover into Various Drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm wondering if using a DPDT switch mounted on the front baffle (the two position rocker style) to change a tweeter's phase from 0 (normal) to 180 (reversed) would be wise? The switch would be electrically inserted into the pathway from the 3-way crossover's tweeter output terminals to the tweeter's input terminals. I am not an electrical engineer but can assemble the drivers and crossover (and solder too, ooh, wow). The 3-way crossover, for clarity's sake, is tweeter, midrange, woofer. Max RMS wattage of 275W.

But, I have noticed that when I turn on/off any household electrical switch, my over-the-air (OTA) ATSC HD signal gets interrupted for a second or so (kind of depending on the distance of the switch to the antenna atop the HD TV). Therefore, there must be a nice electrical arc (square-wave type arc with lots of ripple/noise???) happening when those switches are 'energized' and 'de-energized' (aka 'thrown').

Would the 'physical switching' cause a power spike that would injure the tweeter? And, would the switch itself represent a 'poor electrical pathway' for the audio signal and therefore degrade the signal?

My overall goal would be to not only allow the tweeter to be phase reversed but also the enclosure's midrange and woofer too. My thinking is why not allow for each to be phase reversed? But, as the latter two (2) drivers use much more wattage, I would assume that reversing the phase of them in this manner using DPDT switches would be more difficult/dangerous?

Please let me know if this is possible and if so, which DPDT switches the DIY experts have successfullly used (brand, model, distributor)?

Thank you very much!

If you try it, be sure it is a break before make switch. Not all are.