Any chance this would sound good?!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So, here is a sample of what I get in the simulation software. Now, could it sound ok? It's 1-st order for woofer, 3-rd for mid, and 2-nd for tweeter.

URL]

If they overlap that much without adding to somewhat of a broad peak, the driver to driver phase relationship must be off. Like Dave said, that will give a weird polar pattern. Even on-axis, the peak followed by the dip at 2K is very undesirable.

Last edited:
Many thanks for Your response. I am still a newbie, so please bear with me for a moment. I don't know what info is important, so I will give You everything, hoping You could point me in a right direction.

I bulid this speakers for a friend, as a gift, and they should replace his home theater setup (commercial cheapos, 5 fullrangers + 1 sub), and they should be good for music and for HT. They will be connected to a reciever (still not bought).

I already made boxes (simulated first), some pictures attached. Boxes are still not fully finished, and they are made from 25mm mdf, in two separate enclosures. Upper enclosure will host mid and tweeter, it is closed box with outside dimensions 45x25x35cm, and this enclosure will be mounted (with standoffs) on the top of the bottom one which hosts woofer, vented one with dimensions 80x25x35cm.

Drivers for mid and woofer are the same, Westra KW-160-1394-8, and they have this specs:

Z - 8ohm
Re - 7,4ohm
Vas - 27 liter
Sd - 143 cm sq.
Qts - 0,61
Qms - 2,46
Qes - 0,81
FS - 44 HZ
85db

http://www.dobar-zvuk.hr/hi-fi/westra/hkm/bas-srednjetonci/KW-160-1394-8.pdf

I put mid in a closed encloser with tweeter, hoping this could provide me some kick, and woofer in the vented enclosure with vent about 70mm x 100mm, hoping that vented would give me some deeper bass for HT purposes.

Both cabinets are stuffed.

Tweeter used is Visaton SC10N,

90db,
FS: 1700HZ
Sd:5cm sq