One of my KRK v8 hums and I don't know what to do - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th July 2012, 02:57 AM   #1
vvd is offline vvd  Germany
diyAudio Member

Default [Solved] One of my KRK v8 hums and I don't know what to do

greetings DIYers,

I am not a electrical engineer and not really a DIY guy (I wish I was) so I am asking you for help. I want to gather some knowledge about my issue to educate myself so that I am hopefully able to justify possible rapair costs.

Here is my issue:
for some years now one of my good 'ol KRK V8 hums slightly, even with no connected audio cable. The hum is constant and has never changed during the years. I've made a recording as i thought it might help a technician to identify the issue (In the recording I am moving the mic from the woofer to the tweeter, back to the woofer and back to the tweeter again):

http://prodatum.sf.net/tmp/hum.mp3

for comparison: the same recording from the silent monitor (BTW, the hiss of the tweeter is not audible normally, I cranked up the recording levels quite a bit):

http://prodatum.sf.net/tmp/nohum.mp3

I've also made a frequency analysis from the hum of the woofer:

Click the image to open in full size.

My power line is AC @ 50Hz, and there's a peak at 50Hz, but also one at around 150Hz. Does that tell you guys something? It doesn't to me... i think it's interesting tho', and might be a hint?

So yeah, I have no clue about electronics... Could this possibly be repaired easily? You know, it's expensive gear and people might think oh, he has lots of money, let's just sell him a new amp or something. I don't want to be fooled/spend too much money.

Thank you!

PS: Both monitors are on the same power line.