Chartwell PM110 Speakers - Crossover Help

Hi I am a complete DIY aoudio novice who needs some help.

I have been given a pair of Chartwell PM110 mk 2 speakers (early 1980's) which have not been used for many years and which I would like to refurbish. I have tried the speakers and they work though bass seems to be some what lacking, I was thinking of attempting a recap but need some help identifying parts. Can anyone tell me if the 5 Rifa brand silver rectangular capacitiors in the below photo are bipolar electrolytic and if so are there modern equivalents available of similar dimenions that would easy to fit on the board? Also the 3 black resistors are covered in white powdery deposit, is this normal with resistors of this type or does it mean they have failed and need repalcing?

PM110Crossover003.jpg

Sorry if these are dumb questions:)

Cheers
Rich

No dumb questions here, just dumb answers, IMO! :D

These Chartwell PM110 MkII were made by swisstone down in Mitcham. I believe Chartwell added their own polypropylene cones to Dalesford chassis.

The Chartwell PM110 is the smallest in a new series employing the company's own development of polypropylene as a cone material for the main driver. Apart from a claimed reduction in colouration and distortion (see also the Harbeth HL) this increases sensitivity, as does the use of a reflex vented enclosure rather than the usual closed box, and we found the PM11O of above average efficiency despite its relatively small size. The main driver has a PVC termination and a long-throw voice coil to permit reasonable bass radiation without clipping. The Son Audax tweeter operates from 2.5 kHz upwards. The review samples were teak veneered and looked very handsome with the 20mm thick moulded foam grille lending a bit of style, though it has no frame and is held rather loosely by velcro pads. Connections are via 4mm sockets or a DIN male socket in a recessed moulding.