Senior Project Build Thread

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Next semester I will be building my school a pretty large sound system for our football field and I thought I might as well document it here. I have another thread about this here but that was more for design

Although I will not actually start building until summer is over I've already planned the whole thing and started the ball rolling. I've got a little time so I might as well give a bit of background.

My school tends to go through sound systems, we have destroyed two since I was a freshman, I attribute this to not spending enough for adequate hardware and then putting high schoolers in charge of it who want to play it louder than it was built for.

I have been given a $5500 budget to build a system, and by my initial estimates I will be able to build a system to rival much more expensive systems, in the range of $15000.

The plan is this:
4 Bill Fitz DR250
4 http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/subwoofers/178029-c-e-x-pa-flat-30-ft30-pa-th-awesomeness-69.html Bass horns
A bunch of Crown XLS 1000 DriveCore Series Power Amplifier Flexible for Any Pro Audio Amplification Need 245-500
One of dbx DriveRack PA+ Complete Loudspeaker Management System 246-171 to work everything
A few power conditioners, maybe a limiter, some other small stuff...
Some sort of control board, haven't decided which one yet

I am going with the BFM tops mainly because I am unfamiliar with that sort of design where directionality is a concern etc. I ordered and received the plans today, so I will go through all of that and see whats crackin. I am planning on not building the crossover as that will add unneeded cost when I am already buying the driverack, also it's simpler.

The subs I am more familiar with so I'm okay with doing some more improvising, designing, and using a relatively untested design (I think 2 or so have been made).