Western Electric 1928 - WE 555 Dissect, Design, DIY??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thank you--I was always curious as to whom invented the compression driver. To read that the same person invented the multicell horn is nothing short of humbling (given my venture into designing a horn topology of my own).

E.C. Went is a name I will not forget.

If only this information could be written in stone. Time has a way of erasing information. Perhaps it should be etched into stone?

I've been collecting information on horn design for a few years (on and off) for personal use. I will definitely add a few of those pages to my collection.

Hello Bear,

I fully agree with you

Mechanical drivers using compression chambers were yet used in phonographs.

The most important inventor for compression drivers, diaphragms, horns of begining of the 20th century was IMHO Harrison : see here something like a compression chamber :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Harrison_mechanical_filter.png

Norton probably invented the first phase plug :

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d/d1/Norton_mechanical_filter.png

After the triode was invented and the need for electomechanical drivers (then later "loudspeakers") Whente, Thuras and the others used to develop their ineventions from many things yet invented for phonographs (metallic diaphragms, compression chambers, phase plugs, horns...)

Best regards from Paris, France

Jean-Michel Le Cléac'h

Last edited:
Origins Much Earlier

Fix URL
Hello Bear,

I fully agree with you

Mechanical drivers using compression chambers were yet used in phonographs.

The most important inventor for compression drivers, diaphragms, horns of begining of the 20th century was IMHO Harrison : see here something like a compression chamber :

File:Harrison mechanical filter.png - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Norton probably invented the first phase plug :