Advice needed for sub enclosures

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys
I'm a bit of a newbie here and was wondering if some of you seasoned DIYers would be able to guide me in my quest to build a pair of subs. I have at my disposal a pair of Philips AD12200 12" LF drivers. I have googled them and come up with the following specs:

Fs 21Hz
Re 6,4ohm
Qes 0,328
Qms 4,062
Qts 0,304
Vas 287,4 ltr
Mms 70,4 g

Usable range is rated 20 - 1500 Hz.

Now, I need some advice on how best to mount these in some small enclosures, which would ideally sit 'neatly' below the lower mid section, which consists of a pair of old Klipsch Heresy cabs with just the 12" driver connected. If you could provide me with some dimensions and whether or not a port would be required, and if so what size.

The room is quite small measuring 14' x 15' approx, so want to try to avoid 'boom' if at all possible. Power is likely to be provided by a 50wpc solid state amp to begin with - would more grunt be beneficial? I listen to small scale Jazz and classical, some folk & blues, so the LF is purely for atmosphere and not 'slam'!

Thanks in advance for your thoughts

Inamelotone ;)

"Small" and "good" sub do not match. First of all, download WinISL, the defacto standard box simulation. If you listen to Jazz, man you got to have solid clean bass. Not stupid movie effects, but real solid bass. Copland without a sub? Might as well listen to Debussy.

You don't "boom" by following the basic design guidelines for enclosure brought to us all by the good Mr. Thiel and Mr. Small. Please do some reading.

It is my preference for a sub to be in a sealed box with a Q in the .6 range. I find they blend into the room very well. I make use of boundary gain and get very pleasing balance into the low 20's. I have a disdain for ported subs. I would like to try an IB someday, but I bet the neighborhood would not.