top spec nearfield monitor with extended LF response

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am looking to build a set of nearfields. I have some knowledge of acoustics (I have measured and treated several rooms, including building tuned Helmhotz panels for one) but only a little knowledge of speaker design. As a little knowledge can be a terrible thing I will be getting Wilmslow audio to do the specifics of the design.
My room is only 12' (3 m 66cm) x 8' 3" (2m 50cm)
currently I have a good amount of broadband absorbtion and diffusion, but I am here long term, so I am going to build tuned panels soonish.
speakers are either side of my workstation mounted vertically on stands, 2ft(60cm) from the back wall and 1ft(30 cm) from the side walls. so the tweeters are 4'4" apart and thats the distance from ear to tweeter when I'm in mixing position.

I know I want all my drivers in vertical alignment, I do not want duplicate drivers and I do not want a separate sub

I do not require great volume at all but need the bass still to be there at low volumes

I am leaning towards a 3 way design using up to a 3" ATC dome to cover the vocal range in a tried and tested combination with a great soft dome tweeter.

But I really want to get the bass extension down to 30something hz +-2db. The best speaker I have heard for really delivering subs clearly from a small box to a close listening position (and it was in a small very well treated room) was the PMC AML1, which is a tiny transmission line apparently a scaled down version of that in the LB1. But I haven't been able to find any designs for small transmission lines.