Old project - Active 3-way - Update/Rebuild/Replace?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This was my first speaker project, I must have started building them around 6 years ago when I was a poor starving student. I had tried to build the best I could with the budget I had at the time. Clearly I did not do enough research at the time.

The mid and tweeter were crossed at 5K with a cheap pre-made crossover and web calculator L-pad. The main woofer was then crossed at around 2k with an Elliott sound P09 electronic crossover. 300 and 3k would probably have been better starting points.

I have finally started catching up with my backlog of projects and finally got around to anther p09 with a 300hz crossover frequency. Plugged it in yesterday and things sounded decidedly worse.

Today I decided to pull things apart and have a play around. The sealed mid partition is 5.5L and the main cab is 28L with a 65x200mm port and a shelf brace. There is a sealed section behind the tweeter that is not really needed.

The first thing I did was to remove the 5k crossover and run the old active crossover between mid and tweeter - this was the best I have ever heard these speakers sound, this is what I had wanted them to sound like when I first made them!

I had a couple of sets of tweeters to try out seeing that the original was very shrill and coarse sounding. First up was the Vifa BC25TG15-04, again a
vast improvement over what was there before. Next up was the Nuance TW5-120LR, these impressed me - especially considering the price. While the Vifa did sound better than Nuance it did seem to stand out while the Nuance seemed to match the rest of the speaker better. I did need need to cut back the gain on the tweeters considerably as the mid is not very efficient.