Factory T/S specs or DIY measurements? Help! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th May 2012, 03:58 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Factory T/S specs or DIY measurements? Help!

Well, you guys have made me totally confused. Again. The most frustrating aspect of DIY speaker design for me is the fact that the more I learn, the more I realize how ignorant I am of the subject matter. I have done a boatload of research and still feel as though I am groping in the dark toward my goal. I console myself with the knowledge that although I am an amateur in the sense that my knowledge and experience are limited, I am also an amateur in the sense that I love working and playing with audio electronics.

I read with interest the thread on the full-range forum about the accuracy of Audio Nirvana published T/S specifications. Some of the posts stated that some manufacturers test their loudspeakers at levels that may differ from other references and with differing measurement equipment and measuring conditions than those that may be economically available to the average DIYer. Some posters stated that though they obtained DIY measurements different from the factory specifications, when they built enclosures based on the factory specs they obtained the desired results. Some said that their DIY measurements were largely identical to the factory specs. In addition, I know from my own research that not all manufacturers test their drivers on baffles identical to those used by other makers.