NO Baffle 3 way speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
HI all,

As for my look around for my first DIY project and me living in Apt i had to look for something that requires minimal wood work so this came across

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/mult...le-dipole-beyma-tpl-150-a-28.html#post1962447

this is my inspiration... so here are my three drivers i will use...

Sub

Mid
or

Tweeter

My reason to select all these three were totally on basis of...

If not best in good performance category.
And if tomorrow i am not able to get this working i can use this for other project e.g. Goldwood Sub can be used for h Frame MJK subwoofer and alpair can be used for Frugal horn .... and Ribbon can be mounted on top.. or can just do open baffle on alpair or fostex with ribbon below it ..

being total newbie i will not be going on route of active crossover so will stay on passive crossover...

I just want to know if this is a good idea to move forward....and what is the crossover frequencies i should be looking into these speakers ...

thanks for all the help...

being total newbie i will not be going on route of active crossover so will stay on passive crossover...

I just want to know if this is a good idea to move forward....and what is the crossover frequencies i should be looking into these speakers ...
Your choice of drivers is feasible. But you want to put the Goldwood into a H frame and you probably want a larger driver for the midrange than the Alpair 7. Doing it passive will make things really difficult. And you will be lost without the capability to measure frequency response.
This is my passive crossover for a similar baffleless three way system. And no - this is not stereo:

Attachments

• VisaSwing Weiche1.jpg
    VisaSwing Weiche1.jpg
    188.4 KB · Views: 1,168
OB

Scott,