Where are my mids?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
so I'm a rookie here. I have a pair of Electro-Voice SH15-2 two way horn loaded stage speakers powered by a samson servo 200 amplifier off the pre-out of a yamaha receiver from the 80's. my american acoustic three way speakers sound great on the receiver but when i turn on the stage speakers I end up with a low, hollow sounding system. I have no experience with horns which is why I'm not sure if something is wrong or if i just need some mid supporting speakers.

It sounds to me like i need more mid-range sound so could anyone recommend a cheap solution to supplement my current system?

Otherwise if there is anyone here that knows the EV SH15-2 's at all how i could tell if the horns are actually working the way they are supposed to.

Brad

What i forgot to mention was that one of the horn drivers (the original i believe) has two contacts sticking out the side but the horn driver in the other cabinet (which was replaced by the previous owner) has two contacts sticking out of either side for a total of four. none of the contacts are labeled and there are no numbers that I can find on either driver.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Brad,
Stage speakers often sound like that. It has to do with how they are used. They are intended to pump out a lot of sound. If you do that with a speaker that has a solid midrange, they will be ear splitting at their intended volume, with heavy listening fatigue. Designed like they are, they can be turned up and still be tolerable.

Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005
have you tried to reverse tweeter polarity ?

they dont always get it right you know
and besides, noone knows who else have been messing with it
even left and right speaker could be connected differently
such small errors happens all too easy
have you looked at the crossover
did anyone mess with it, making changes