Cheap 2-way Speakers - Design advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I have picked up some cheap drivers last weekend and am wanting to design a cabinet for them. These are just a little fun side project, nothing too serious.

I wired the drivers in parallel and they sounded ok straight on, as both the tweeter and woofer are around the same sensitivity so neither one overpowered the other.

I am not sure what crossover frequency I should aim for and what cabinet type I should go for. My first set of speakers are actively crossed 3-ways so I am new to passive crossovers.

I would say my crossover budget is around $50

I was thinking about building a 60L vented enclosure. I am unsure on the best dimensions for this and where on cabinet I should place the drivers, I was thinking that the tweeter and driver should be as close to each other as possible?

16mm MDF with lots of bracing should be fine for construction?

http://www.surplustronics.co.nz/shop/product-SP2202.html
http://www.surplustronics.co.nz/shop/product-902.376.html

What information I could find on the driver:
Re - 7
Fs - 46
Qms - 2.82
Qes - 0.63
Qts - 0.52
Sd(CM2) - 211
Vas(L) - 33.5
Cms(uM/N) - 531
Mms(g) - 22
Rms B x L - 8.5
SPL_1W/1m2 - 89
Prms(W) - 60
Pmax(W) - 120
Xmax - 1.5

Any ideas and suggestions would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Jake

60L tuned to the mid 30s is about right, yes the tweeter should be close as possible to the woofer. Dimensions - Keep the tweeter about ear height, & internal volume constant, then make it any shape you like - wider is better for low baffle step (my preference), narrower is purportedly better for imaging.