Planning out a new OB system - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st January 2012, 06:42 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Planning out a new OB system

So I've just finished my first OB project for my home office and of course as things go, it's time to start planning for the next project for my larger room (13'x18'). I'm new to the hifi/diy world so bare with me if I show my lack of experience here. So the budget is $2K (tops) and this was what I was thinking:

> Roughly 2'x4' baffles, 2.25" thick, CNCed. Inspired by Jamo r909 design
> Tang Band Full Range powered by PeachTree Decco2
> Double Eminence Alpha 15a's powered by a couple of Dayton 150watt amps
> Source: MacbookPro w/ Fidelia

Click the image to open in full size.

Thoughts? Ideas?

Anyone have experience with those Tang Band's? I've considered the Fostex combination but I'm trying to do something slightly different here.
Old 31st January 2012, 06:55 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

With a budget of 2k why not build an acoustically superior Nao note?
Old 31st January 2012, 07:01 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi , I think that those amplifiers have some high pass and low pass filter selectable functions , or are you relieving on the natural bandpass behavior of each loudspeaker ?
I also think that with that set of loudspeakers you can go with the TB in OB