Zaph|Audio ZA5.3 MTM, opinions on quality/value?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Help a newbie choose a speaker kit, opinions on quality/value?

I'm a newbie to DIY loudspeakers and I've been looking at kits. I don't really want to be cutting MDF because I don't have a table saw and I noticed this kit with complete cabs.

Link to the kit:
http://www.madisoundspeakerstore.com/mtm-speaker-kits/zaph|audio-za5.3-mtm-pair-with-cabinets/

My current system is quite a bit larger, but my room is only about 11x13" so I assume it's too large. I love power though and I'd like to know if anyone has heard the ZA5.3s and can tell me how they sound?

I'm looking for something that is a nice upgrade in quality even if it's not as powerful, there is attached photo of my current system. It's two pairs of 3way floorstanding monitors with 12" woofers. One pair is a budget technics from around 2000 and the other is an old pair of Made in Japan Teac's from the 80s or so. I know they shouldn't even be setup like this for quality I'm sure..

So, can anyone tell me if the ZA5.3 is a good value for the money (a bit over $500 shipped) I want something that's a substantial upgrade in quality and soundscape / stereo imaging. I will use these mainly for music but I also use this system as a partial home theatre with a surround sound receiver and rears.

I plan to put the ZA5.3s where my current monitors are, on small stands so the tweeter is at ear level. Would this be a good position and a good speaker for this room?

I know this might have been a wall of text but I'd highly appreciate any help, I'm new to this and I just want to get the best value for my money and have some fun.

I'm also considering:
Dayton Audio RS722CK Speaker Kit Cherry 302-972
and
TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair 300-702

Which is the best quality for the dollar?

Thanks much

Last edited:
Joined 2011
Paid Member