noob needs help converting mtm crossover

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, long time lurker would like to ask help from diyaudio gurus here :

I am trying to replicate a nice mtm center speaker with vifa P13WG-00-08 and D27, main problem is the only pair I can find here are A13WHs with 4 ohm impedance.

Assuming both models have exactly similar parameter except for impedance, how do I convert these values in following low pass crossover ?

mid-xo-1.jpg

Really appreciate any help or guidance as I have very little knowledge on electronics. Thanks much in advance.

cheers,
sm

Hi sm,

My gut tells me that you would drop the 0.2mH inductor down to 0.1mH, and then remove the rest of the components because they have no business being there? I'm really hoping someone else can shed some light on the reason those other components are wired in like that. I can't figure out what business they have being there.

Is your amp going to be alright with a 2 ohm load with those woofers in parallel? My personal approach would be to wire the woofers in series and use a 0.4mH inductor instead, resulting in a ~8ohm speaker.

That looks like a *really* odd design for a crossover - are you sure about the schematic?

You will want to put the A13WH's in series to get a 8-ohm load. Most HT amps won't drive a 2-ohm load in my experience.

This also means that you will likely need to pad the tweeter output down in order to match the woofers. At this point you are really better off throwing out the old design and starting from scratch. Perhaps using one of the simple crossover design tools.

Eg. http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/mult...designing-crossovers-without-measurement.html

Good luck,

-bill

Last edited:
That filter is just a contour shaper (I think 0.3mH is more proper than 3mH), so basically the P13 is run in fullrange, where the tweeter is crossed at the P13 natural roll-off frequency.