newbie Wanna start a unity Horn project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a newbie for horn, and i want to build a unity horn, my concept is simple
i want to make a unity horn with 2 compression drivers cover anything from 700hz (or lower) to let;s say 14K hz and a super tweeter upto 30Khz

this unity horn may be crossed at 700hz range..or can be lower

i read a lot about unity horns at here, 2 ways units horn, with a compression HF with 2 to 4 mid range cones..

is it possible ?

If you want fidelity I suggest you forget dual slot horns, they are against everything we learned about waveguide and horn contours in the past decade or so..

The coaxials pointed out by MaVo are a good starting point though. There are some successful projects out there in the wild, the most known one being the one from BD-Design.

but i can see..some example of unity, or synergy horn, those separation of drivers..deos not seem to be 1.4 of the crossover frequency, as that idea seem so logical for high SPL and point source, and keeping the structure smaller..too

also wonder..how;s the tonal color of BMS and B&C ?

Well there would be the same effects as feeding four drivers. The SPL halfs and probably the phase response of the crossover needs to be adjusted. Having just two drivers also means higher distortions (because less SPL).

Maybe there are some advantages also, but I can't figure out what those would be, except price..

As for simillarities between feeding two compression drivers into a horn, vs the synergy concept, well there is much to talk. It all depends on the crossover point and whether the entry hole of the CD's remain acoustically invisible to the other at the selected crossover point. And that basically means bellow 1Khz if I understand this correctly.

Tom Danley actually does this with his JH 90