Speaker choice for a LM3886 chip amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th November 2011, 11:09 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Speaker choice for a LM3886 chip amp

Hello!

Since I'm new to this forum and also new to DIY audio here's my first cry for your guidance. I'm about to build my fist amplifier and I've decided I'm going to start with a LM3886 chip amp.

What I've decided is that I'll buy my first pair of speakers. I'll leave the DIY speakers for much much later. I'm not looking for something fancy, I'm not aiming for audiophile quality (yet), as my budget is so tight you'll probably laugh... I'm aiming somewhere around 250 Euro or 300 USD or 1000RONs.

I have no experience so far as I've been using some cheap PC speakers for the past 10 years or so. Anyway, even some cheap bookshelf speakers will be a considerable jump in audio quality from my point of view.

I'm looking for products that are widely available in Europe.

I'm open for all suggestions and please be lenient... renovating and refurnishing my newly bought apartment puts a heavy strain on my budget... But I need a place to start and work my way up.
Old 29th November 2011, 12:12 PM   #2
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

buy 8ohms speakers. Not 6ohms, not 4ohms, not 4 to 8ohms.
buy higher efficiency speakers. Not 84dB/W @ 1m, not 86dB/W @ 1m.
try for a sensitivity of 90dB/W @ 1m or higher.
Old 29th November 2011, 01:09 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hello Andrew,

thanks for the replay.

I had the same in mind, after reading some posts.