Recommendation of speaker elements (2-way, floor-stander)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!
I am a student, working on a project where I will be building a pair of speakers. (With intentions of learning how a speaker is built and work.)

I have decided on these factors;
- 2-way
- Floor-standing
- Budget for elements + crossover about $200-250)
(I live in Sweden - Europe-Audio will be my main source.)

I would like use a finished build as inspiration, as I have limited knowledge on designing a crossover, and pairing elements. I have already designed a cabinet (curved sides etc), which will be modified to the right volume and elements. If I had a finished build to work from, I would have the correct dimensions, volumes etc, which would greatly help my design process.

I have found Troels Gravesen's design, using Vifa PL18WO-09-08 + XT25TG30-04 (Vifa PL18WO-), but it seems to have very little information on sound and so on. My question to you is, do you have any other recommendations on elements + crossover, with better value than the Troel's design? Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

First off, thank you all for the recommendations.

I have pretty much decided on the Amiga model (https://sites.google.com/site/undefinition/diy/amiga), and I was about to order the components today.

Speaker elements and the inductors are no problem, I can order them from Europe-Audio. I am however having some problem with the resistors and capacitors. Only Parts-Express seem to have some of those components, but their shipping cost is $50 for 6 resistors and 6 capacitors, worth a total of $20.

That doesn't seem like a fair deal to me. Does anyone know where I can find corresponding components in Europe, with the same specifications and quality? I have found some of them at Europe-Audio, but I am to unsure that they are identical apart from brand, to actually order them.