Looking for home audio / home theater speaker DIY or not?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So i have decided that I would like to start building myself a home stereo / home theater system. I am really new to home stereo equipment. I do not know much about it at all. I want some really good sounding speakers and am a bang for your buck kinda guy at this time in my life. I have been shopping around, reading reviews and mainly looking at already constructed mainstream speakers. I want to have a 5.1 system, but also a nice tower set up for listening to music. I have been looking at the JBL "L" series as you can get pretty good prices online. Has anybody heard any of these? Are they any good? All I really have to go on is the main stream audio companies I know that these are not always the best and that's why I am here.
While I was looking here, I ran across a site called http://www.madisoundspeakerstore.com with all kinds of DIY kits. I was looking at the ZAPH Audio kits and started wondering if one of these kits would sound better than the JBL set-ups. Does anyone know if the ZAPH would sound better?

Does anyone have any suggestions on home audio equipment or recommendations? I was looking to spend about 200-300 on the towers and about 200-300 on the center speaker. 100-200 on the rear speakers and I have not figured out the sub pricing yet. I will probably go with the 2 towers and the center speaker for a while then do the rear and Sub if I feel I need it.

Is this the correct place to post?

Thanks,
qualm

The only Zaph in your price range is not a tower:
Zaph|Audio ZA5.2 TM 2-Way, Pair: Madisound Speaker Store

They are small bookshelf speakers.

Unless you are a good woodworker and can find good material cheaply, you're going to be over budget even with these. ($200 for the parts and only $100 left over for the boxes, grills, etc)