Combine high pass tweeter with mids without low pass -Need help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm new to diyaudio and speaker DIY in general, so do excuse my newbie-ness.

I have 2 of the BG neo 10 drivers, and 1 of the Aurum Tweeter as follows:

Aurum Cantus AST2560 Aero Striction Tweeter
• Power handling: 60 watts RMS/90 watts max • Impedance: 4 ohms • Frequency range: 1,600-35,000 Hz • SPL: 95 dB 1W/1m • Recommended minimum crossover frequency: 1,900 Hz •

Bohlender Graebener Neo10 Planar Transducer
Power handling: 75 watts RMS/200 watts max *Impedance: 8 ohms *Re: 6.5 ohms *Frequency range: 150-6,000 Hz *SPL: 92 dB 2.83V/1m

I want to build a single centre channel using those 3 drivers. I can set my amp to set an electronic crossover high pass setting for 200Hz for the centre channel.

My intention is to drive the Neo10 full range over 200Hz without a low pass. I want to use the natural roll off of the driver at around 8kHz.
For the tweeter, I want to high pass using a single capacitor at 8KHz.

I was thinking of wiring the 8 ohm Neo10 in parallel to get a 4ohm combined impedance. Should I also wire in parallel together with the single tweeter with the high pass cap?
I don't know what the overall speaker impedance is going to be like as the Neo10 are not passively filtered at all. I couldn't find any online guides that deal with this scenario.

Also what value to use for the high pass cap if I want a single cap in a first order crossover?

At this moment I'm experimenting with the bare drivers without any baffle considerations.

Would appreciate any help and advice. btw I know some might think it overkill for a centre channel, but it's a bit of a learning experience and if I like the results, the drivers and more may be used in the main stereo pair. Cheers!

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Welcome to the forum!