Tweeter protection in active setup - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th July 2011, 02:19 PM   #1
krassyg is offline krassyg  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Tweeter protection in active setup

I need to protect a very expensive Focal Be tweeter in an active crossover setup with a MiniDsp 2x8 digital crossover. The crossover frequency is 2200Hz. What is the absolute best capacitor for this purpose and what is the value that you guys would recommend. I am new to this hoby and would really appreciate your help.

Thanks in advance,
Chris
Old 30th July 2011, 03:58 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I pondered on tweeter protection when I blew one up with an oscillating amplifier but still haven't done anything about it. Are you thinking about protecting against damage from HF oscillation or something else?
Old 30th July 2011, 05:09 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

The power amp would be an Onkyo PA-MC5500 . It is a four way setup and I just want to protect the tweeter against problems with the amp during the on/off cycle. I don't even know if this is necessary with this amp, I am a noob when it comes to speaker building.
Old 30th July 2011, 05:25 PM   #4
Loren42 is offline Loren42  United States
diyAudio Member

Try this link here.

The point is to protect the tweeter from DC, pops, or really low frequencies that usually come from equipment turning on or off.