Peerless CSX 10" Sealed bass modules

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am much interested on the "peerless - bass shy" thread below. Glad that the CSX 10" woofer gets attention.

I would like to try the CSX 10" in sealed enclosures in stereo bass modules to accompany my fulll range drivers with XO aro 140 Hz.

I have questions to the experts here - glad fore any replies. I am just a beginner myself but I got myself powerful software LspCAD which I now play around with.

(1)
Why is so many people looking for "flat responce down to 30-40Hz ??
In any given room this will always result in a boomy bass due to room gain wouldn't it?

When experimenting CSX 10" with LspCAD with room gain, I can get a fairly "flat" response to 30Hz in a SEALED cabinette. With BR I will on the other hand get "boom" aro 30-60Hz. The size of the boom depends on size of the room of course but for most room sizes the boom is there - in case BR.

(2)
In case of Sealed, there is quite big difference in the dB between 20-40 Hz depending on Cabinette volume:

Qtc = 0.5 good bass extension down to 30Hz
Qtc = 0.707 less good

I am writing this not from my home so I do not have LspCAD in front of me now. (Do not remember all numbers) but what I want to say is that without room gain there is very small differenses in frequency responce for different Box sealed volumes. However, once you consider room gain it makes huge differences especially in the range 20-40Hz.

My 2:nd question then are:

In the case sealed CSX 10" - the bigger volume always simulates better (best is infinite box volume). Are then no disadvantage of big box ?? How about transient response and so on? Shall I try keep Volume down for some reason ?

Peerless recommends 50L sealed box. Is it to limit cone excursion ?

LageB