Why do people say they can't hear resistors, or all resistors are the same?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I tried about 7 different kinds of resistors of the same value on my tweeter it seemed damn obvious they all sounded and different - and what about the sound had changed. I even accidently used two different (nearly identical) resistors for each tweeter and heard the result as 'something wrong with the stereo field'.

Maybe its because I'm a recording engineer with more trained ears than the average joe I can hear them - but the sheer amount of people that say that resistors don't affect the sound is crazy!

So what is it? Just because they don't have have good hearing or what?

experimental setup, blinding protocol? statistical significance?

how did you get 2 (pairs?) of loudspeakers with drivers matched well enough? - did you use a Harmon style "shuffler" to put them in the exact same place in the room for each trial?

just because you're a recording engineer doesn't mean your uncontrolled subjective impressions have to be given much weight if you ignored all known steps for valid subjective testing

please explain how you conducted these "tests" and why your procedure is resistant to known psychoacoustic and perceptual testing errors
errors

Just shut the dang thread down, right away...

..could be a good option if in fact the op is just trolling

experimental setup, blinding protocol? statistical significance?

how did you get 2 (pairs?) of loudspeakers with drivers matched well enough? - did you use a Harmon style "shuffler" to put them in the exact same place in the room for each trial?

just because you're a recording engineer doesn't mean your uncontrolled subjective impressions have to be given much weight if you ignored all known steps for valid subjective testing

please explain how you conducted these "tests" and why your procedure is resistant to known psychoacoustic and perceptual testing errors
errors