DIY guidance - commercial application - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th April 2011, 03:05 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default DIY guidance - commercial application

First off, I want to apologize for the noob(ish) first post. I've got some experience in the diy audio arena, but nowhere near enough for design - or even to know where to start looking, especially in a project like this one. That's where you all come in!

I recently purchased a business - a children's fitness center where we do mommy & me classes, birthday parties, gymnastics, that sort of stuff (Gymnastics and Birthday Parties for Children | Mommy and me | MY GYM - Children's Fitness Center, if you're curious). We play a lot of music in the gym - probably 40 minutes out of every hour the gym is open (7 days a week, 6-11 hours a day), and the current audio setup is HORRIBLE. Take 4 of the cheapest crap-tastic home-theater-in-a-box speakers you can imagine, drive them with an even cheaper receiver from a different home-theater-in-a-box, and ask them to fill a room that's 2000 sq. ft with 11 foot ceilings. Add in bad/old/scratchy recordings of kids music played out of the headphones port of an 8 year old laptop . . . . :shudder:

So while people don't complain specifically about the sound quality, the business would be better served by something more pleasant. When we're not doing kids songs, the majority of the time is with pop/rock/current music, an eclectic mix aimed for young parents to enjoy.