speaker setup and crossover help - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th April 2011, 03:29 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question speaker setup and crossover help

Hi there, I'm new to building my own speaker setup but it seems like a nice idea so recently I've started looking into getting a set of speakers done.
I thought I'd ask here and hopefully get a few pointers from some people with more experience in the subject.

I found a few useful pages when doing some searching on the Internet, such as this one for information on audio crossovers.
I'm aiming for an 8 ohm load, not for any particular reason, but it appears to be common (is this really the case?)

So anyway, what I've done so far is draw out what I think would be valid wiring for a given set of speakers (I have not purchased anything yet, because I am not 100% sure and I don't want to make any mistakes.)

The low/mid range speakers are 4ohm impedance and have a max power rating of 100W each, using a pair of these in series I should be able to get an 8ohm impedance with a max power rating of 200W, I think.
The high-range tweeters are 8ohm impedance and have a max power rating of 50W each, and using 4 of these in series-parallel I should be able to get an 8ohm impedance with a max power rating of 200W also, right?

Using the information about crossovers in the link I put up earlier, I have a 2kHz 'cutoff' (second-order,) and while they are essentially in parallel, they should still have an impedance of about 8 ohms (again according to that crossover page.)