Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th February 2011, 02:35 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Newbie introduction, quick impedance question...

Hi! I've been skimming the boards for a while, but this is my first post. I'm not new to speaker building, but my knowledge is slim, and everything I've ever done, speaker-wise, has been on paper... I sound like a luddite, but I'm really not! In any case, I look forward to being (a small) part of this community, and will be documenting my current project (an ultra-mini tower, like the Totem Arro, with tiny SB Acoustics mid-woofers and Vifa silk tweeters) as it comes along.

This question pertains to that project. I'm not any kind of engineer - I have a graduate degree, but not in EE! - and thus most of my speaker building forays have all been flying blind. But that's the fun of it for me, so I won't be buying LEAP anytime soon. My question is this: my drivers are both 4 ohm nominal impedance. Is there anything simple I can add to the crossover to make the circuit look to the amplifier like each individual driver load is 8 ohms? ie, if I just throw a 4 ohm resistor in series, probably ahead of the crossover (does it matter?), will the load "seen" by the amplifier be 8 ohms? My amp will drive 4 ohm loads fine but these drivers, in parallel as they will be once all built up, represent a 2 ohm load...right?

Sorry about such a trivial question on such a (generally) advanced forum, but I hope someone can answer my question in layman's terms! Thanks in advance!
Old 24th February 2011, 02:57 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

sounds like you are talking about 2ea. 4 ohm drivers per channel. Do I have that right?
If the drivers are connected in series they will present an 8 ohm load to the amp.