Proven design Suguestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am looking for a proven design for 3 way floor standing speakers that have the full 20hz to 20khz range.

I am hoping to find something that uses efficient drivers and can produce decent spl.

Most importantly I want to learn a lot in the process, so the design must be beginner friendly, but also attractive. I am open to All types of cabnets, OB Line array, Or any of the other more conventional setups. Size is not a problem as long as they are an attractive design.

Price is not a huge issue, but as a beginner I'd like to keep it cheaper for my first attempt so maybe $1000 if that is realistic.

Any help would be fantastic. Thanks!!

Joined 2006
Paid Member
Hello feyrerm - What you are looking for is the ultimate quest for most of us!!! I've been there - and in many respects I am still chasing that shadow of "the perfect speaker". Building a speaker that will actually "do" 20Hz to 20 kHz is a challenge for even those of us that are experienced and educated in the art. Many speaker designs that will perform to those levels are around - but then some other things begin to rear their ugly head - things like "how come this speaker doesn't sound as good as I thought it would". One of the 1st problems will be that a three way speaker will use some sort of crossover network – either active or passive – and getting a handle on x’over design is a treat all by itself!

Look up the EconoWave project and see what you think. AK Design Collaborative - Econo-Waveguide Speaker - AudioKarma.org Home Audio Stereo Discussion Forums