Low-pass filter network for mini-array

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
You may know me as a bit of a purist when it comes to speaker design.;) However it occurs to me that there may be some advantages in adding a low-pass filter (switchable of course) to the Nonsuch 4s outer drive-units.

Such a network could both act as a baffle step compensation circuit and as a way of virtually eliminating the comb effects that make the Nonsuch 4 a 'stand-up-and-you-lose-some-of-the-high-frequencies' speaker.

I'm not an electronics designer and my knowledge of crossover circuitry is basic so I thought I'd post this to get views on whether this will cause more problems than it is supposed to solve. I've attached my initial schematics below.

I quite like the capacitors approach as it allows two switch positions for more flexibility in baffle step compensation. Also, when it's switched off there's nothing whatsoever that can adversely effect the performance of the speaker.

However, as the drive units are nominally 4 ohms, the overall impedance would be only 2 ohms at high frequencies. Also, the output from the inner (full-range) drive units would be variable above the low-pass point.

With the inductive approach there is less flexibility as the filter would effect both outer drivers at the same time. The impedance problem would be solved. My concerns are that the inductor would add some phase shift/time delay to the outer drivers and also my network theory is not good enough to be sure what would be the effect on the output of the inner, full-range drivers above the low-pass point.

What do you think?

Attachments

• nonsuch4_filter_schematic.gif
    nonsuch4_filter_schematic.gif
    11.1 KB · Views: 570
frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member