Please help in designing speaker box : measure TS params

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all, I am planning a construct a pair of speakers. 40 + 40 watts. As I have a tight budget and due to unavailability of quality drivers, I bought 2 cheap 8 inch woofers (boston make) and 2 piezoelectro tweeters (dapic).

The problem - woofers dont have much specs given by the manufacturer.
Given specs - Impedance 8ohms, SPL (1W/1m) 88dB, RMS 40W.
And for tweeter: Freq response: 1.8-20 Khz, SPL 91dB, RMS 75W.

I am completely new to this, tried to measure TS params to calculate box volume.

using the following :
T-S Parameter Calculator

I calculated TS params for my 8inch Boston woofer

Re: 7.4 ohms
Diameter: 17.27 cm
Rated power: 40 W

Fs: 50.5 Hz
Rmax: 25 ohms
F1: 35.6 Hz
F2: 71.1 Hz

With added mass of 27gms Fs: 29.4Hz

Qms: 2.615
Qes: 1.0994
Qts: 0.7739
cms: 0.000717512 m/N

Vas: 55.1195 lit
EBP: 26.743

Inductance of voice coil: 14.275 mH

Any comments on these? I used an average rms multimeter(not true rms: Model UNI-T UT70), will it have any effect on these ?

Inductance value seems wrong??

And now how can I go forward and design my speakers ?

Please help...

average responding meter should be ok if you are using sine waves. One gotcha is with non-flat frequency response from inexpensive meters. They will read wrong typically below ~40 and above ~500Hz. If you check that the reading of the output voltage of the signal generator is the same at all frequencies between ~30 and 100Hz, you should be fine - if not you will have to recalibrate your setup for each frequency.

VC inductance is probably 1/10 that figure.

With a Qts of 0.7+, you will have to settle for a bit of midbass emphasis - I probably wouldn't put an 8" driver in a box more than 40 liters.

I used an average rms multimeter(not true rms: Model UNI-T UT70), will it have any effect on these ?

Please help...