Pipe speaker with a twist - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th July 2003, 11:28 PM   #1
WVL is offline WVL  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Lightbulb Pipe speaker with a twist

I'm fairly new at this, which is why I'd like to ask your opinions about my own little project.

I'm about to make a pipe-speaker, a speaker with a cilindrical-shaped inside. Most I've seen so far are based on sewage-pipes or something similar. I want to make one with a twist.

This is what I have in mind. Click the image to open in full size. (please do not mind the quality of the picture, I'm not using CAD programs, this is made in Maple V (a mathematical software package)

I want to make it using stacked pieces of wood, like such :
Click the image to open in full size.

I've been thinking on how to proceed to make the whole speaker, I hope it's possible..

first I want to cut out all the single layers, and drill in the center hole, as well as the little hole (the little hole is in a different position for each layer, it will help me to get the right 'twist')

next I want to use a sewage pipe and a thin metal rod to put the pieces on. I will use the sewage pipe (the layers will fit around tightly) to center all the layers, and the small rod (fitting the small holes) to get the right 'twist'.. then all will be glued and pressed together.

My questions :

what do you guys think would be the best material? I've been looking around and 4mm MDF looks to be the best option. (thinner is better, as the result will be much smoother, so I don't have to sand like crazy..) I can get different materials, but they don't look right for building speakers.. any ideas?