tri amping a jvc sp-555wd - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th October 2010, 04:27 PM   #1
atnil is offline atnil  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default tri amping a jvc sp-555wd

I'm a newbie and I was thinking if it is possible to tri amp a pair of jvc sp-555wd speaker. Available for me now are a crossover (behringer cx2310) and equalizer (behringer fbq-15020).
Please recommend a mixer and amplifiers (assuming the spkr above is tri ampable) for this home setup.
Can I use car amplifiers? Please help me.
Old 12th October 2010, 06:58 AM   #2
Francec is offline Francec  Australia
Banned

Why do you want to tri-amp them? Do they work?

You can use car amps but you will need a 13.8 V (nominal 12V) supply that can give you a huge amount of Amperes, ................. and that will be expensive.

Frank
Old 12th October 2010, 06:30 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thank you for your reply. The pair of JVC SP-555WD is working. Its specs just in case: 3 way 3 spkr, 125w power handling cap, 210w music, 35hz- 20khz, 8ohms, 12" woofer, 10 cm mid. I want to triamp this pair of speaker because I can't find a reasonable price of speaker that are triampable ready (like QSC digital cinema series). Besides, I want to try triamping an old speaker before doing that to a more expensive pair.
Could you please show me how to do the tri amping on this pair of speaker?

"You can use car amps but you will need a 13.8 V (nominal 12V) supply that can give you a huge amount of Amperes, ................. and that will be expensive."

I was thinking of a regulated power supply to supply power to 3 car amps. The current rating of power supply will depend on the 3 amps rating. If this is not possible, I'll be using a power amp that will be recommended here in forum.