Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th October 2010, 07:49 AM   #1
ficus is offline ficus  Germany
diyAudio Member

Default Sonab OA-4 crossover and tweeter impedance

I am restoring some 60ies Sonab OA-4 (mkII) speakers, but have encountered a small problem. I am new at this so hopefully this question isn't too dumb

The OA-4 usually has a tweeter configuration of 2x 8 Ohm + 1x 16 Ohm tweeter impediances.

However, mine, for some reason, have a pure 3x 16 Ohm configuration.

Originally, the crossover has 2x air-core 0.5 mH inductors and an 1x 6.8 uF capacitor.

It is obvious that some work has been done on the crossover, and both inductors and capacitor have been changed, but being unable to measure the induction I only know the capacitor value is 4.7 uF. Obviously this changes the crossover frequency.

However, I would like to restore the crossover to original condition, but I was wondering if the fact that I have 3x 16 Ohm means that the original components won't work or what effect it will have on the crossover generally.

Any help would be very welcome, thanks!
Old 6th October 2010, 11:33 AM   #2
UrSv is offline UrSv  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Have you checked for answers at CarlssonPlanet?

CarlssonPlanet.com • Everything about the Carlsson loudspeakers
Old 6th October 2010, 12:19 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

That's a helpful link. Just had a brief look at there are TWO versions of the OA4 so that might explain things.
Old 6th October 2010, 04:13 PM   #4
ficus is offline ficus  Germany
diyAudio Member