Audax Home Theater Kit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th January 2002, 03:53 PM   #1
BD is offline BD
diyAudio Member

Default Audax Home Theater Kit

I am looking into building my first set of speakers. I want to use a kit because the crossover and box design is already accomplished.

Has anyone had any experience with this system. It seems like a good design to me, but i am just getting into speaker building. also i was looking at the subwoofer that is recommended with this system. Would I be better off sticking with it or going with something like the Vance series from Partsexpress. I there are systems that better than this one let me know. All feedback will be appricated.

BD
Old 4th January 2002, 04:04 PM   #2
Warp Engineer
On Holiday

Is this a good setup? Yes.

Are there better? Yes.

Audax drivers feature in speakers worth US$15,000 so for what the kit costs it is worth the money.... only complaint i would have about it is that i generally prefer sealed boxes to ported ones.
Old 4th January 2002, 05:23 PM   #3
ucla88 is offline ucla88  Tahiti
diyAudio Member

for the money, this is a great setup. sure, you can get setups with better components, but that's only half the battle. the setup was designed by Dr. D'Appolito, so it's a good bet that the rest of the system is designed extremely well. Vance Dickason's kit also seems quite good, though i haven't heard it.

still, you can get the parts for the entire setup except the sub for under $600 bucks, not counting cabinets. you really can't beat that.

i'd be inclined to use a different sub, though
Old 4th January 2002, 05:47 PM   #4
BD is offline BD
diyAudio Member

Thanks for your replies,