Another Open Baffle. Advice?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I’d like to build an open baffle MTM + a woofer, I’m still fairly new to speaker building so would appreciate any advice. I built a big box with Morels in it but preferred the sound of them in open baffles while I was building the box so now I want to do a proper dipole. The main goal is to build an open baffle MTM with good drivers and software crossover and an additional u-frame woofer per side.

For the mid-woofer I’m thinking the Scanspeak 18W Revelators. Baffle will be around 35cm wide and a bit curvy (I don’t know what the curvy bit means either yet but want to experiment with kerf bending timber and also vertically align the drivers). For the u frame woofer I think it will be something like a 12” Peerless, XXLS or just SLS, any recommendations?

For the tweeter I was initially thinking either the Seas Millennium or a Scanspeak ring radiator but I don’t understand how these could work off axis on an open baffle without a rear tweeter which I would like to avoid if possible. I was reading about the Bohlender Graebener Neo3 which seems popular and a good fit for the application with its removable rear cover for dipole use, this would be the main thing I’m after advice on:

- Could the Neo 3 give me sound quality somewhere near a Seas millennium tweeter on an open baffle or is it just a completely different sort of sound and I’ll have to take my chances?
- For the crossover I’m completely flexible as I’ll be going active so can experiment but am thinking the I’d rather cross the W18s up around 2 – 2.5kHz rather than trying to get the Neo 3 down below 2kHz. Can the w18s comfortably go high enough to meet the Neo 3, there seems to be conflicting reports of how high they should go?