Vifa MG crossover design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'll be receiving my first load of diy drivers on friday and I can't wait to start building a set of speakers. I'm planning on making a stereo pair of MTM's using Vifa MG series 7" mids and Usher 9950. I've been playing around with crossover design, but since it is my first time I was hoping to get some input on these specific drivers and hopefully get someone to design a quick crossover for me. If someone could take a couple of seconds and draw up a basic scematic and list of values I would greatly appreciate it. I have found no people using the new Vifa MG series drivers in a home setup, but have heard great things about them from the car audio side of things. Again, I'm just looking for a passive crossover design for an MTM setup using the above drivers. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out.

Cheers
-Steve

I think if you'll go back to my original post you'll see that I said I've already done that, using several different methods and opinions on crossover design. I was looking for someone more experienced to simply put in their two cents, a "what would you do" situation if you will. In particular I was hoping for someone with experience with these specific drivers to give me their input on good crossover points and slopes. Please do not think that I am look for an easy way out, or that I'm not trying to solve the problem on my own

Cheers

dunderchief,
I've never used the drivers you have, but I looked at the published FR curves and they don't look to bad to me. Why don't you try the easiest route first and go from there? If I were you and assuming that you'll be running the two Vifas in parallel, I'd probably try something like a .6mH or .7mH coil in series with the mid/woofers and start with a 3uF cap on the tweeter and go from there. Who knows? It might sound good just like that.