Ekta Grande baffle changes

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Please could anyone comment on the affect of not narrowing the baffle of Troels Gravessen's Ekta Grande design around the midrange and tweeter?

Ekta GrandeScanSpeak 18W/

I would propose to keep the same baffle width, but keep it flat (this is for aesthetic reasons in order for the cabinets to be more in keeping with my home decor). I would use a 10mm, or 20mm roundover on the baffle sides and top. All driver positions would be the same, and the cabinet would still be raked back 5 degress

I imagine you'd have to incorporate some baffle step compensation in the crossover. I'm no expert and can't really tell if there is some already in there but I imagine putting it in/increasing it would change the crossover quite a bit. Maybe someone with more expertise could chime in but perhaps putting them up against the wall would alleviate some of this effect?

I have dug out some photos to demonstrate my question better.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Both speakers have identical drivers, identical driver placement, identical crossovers, identical internal volumes, and identical port tuning. One has a chamfered baffle around the midrange and tweeter, the other has a flat baffle.

How and why would these sound different?

If I were to roundover the edges with a 20mm bit, would this go some way to compensate?