Two way - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th February 2010, 04:40 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to mistertrent
Default Two way

I have been a musician for about 15 years, spend most of my time in front of my computer, listening to other peoples music, games, work I have created, movies, I basically just treat my ears a 24 hour a day experience. But my old trusty purplies have died.

I am trying to come up with a good combination of mid/woofer and tweeter combo for a good accurate all round setup. I use Sennheiser HD280 Pro's, and AKG K-300's for headphones, but since my speakers have died, I have been forced into some $15 desktop PC Speakers...

So far I have been looking at the Vifa P17WJ-00-08 for the mid/woofer's just to start things off with an all round decent performer, I can get this driver, and put it into a matching cabinet that I made myself easy enough, but matching it with a tweeter and knowing what kind of crossover to make, is something I am lacking experience in. My last design was a hack job. I bought some woofer/mid's on special, then bought some tweeters independantly, both Vifa, from Jaycar, with no decision as to why I chose the two... then worked really hard to make them sound good together, and eventually they did, after some zobel networks and attenuation networks, padding, tuning, lots of glue and screws, and ears.

My main question here would be "What should I look for when looking at Data Sheets with tweeter drivers, so that I can make a decent decision?."