Back wave vs OB vs Front wave

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
A newbie question please: For low frequencies, what are the respective objectives for each of the speaker configurations i.e. closed box, OB, TL, front-loaded horns, back-loaded horns, aperiodic, etc???

Seems like each design attempts to control the low frequency waves but aren't some waves out of phase? For example, closed box has no back wave therefore in-phase front wave, right? OB has both front and back wave, opposite phase and cancellation? Horn-loaded back wave attempts to overcome the in-phase front wave with concentrated, coherent wave, no? TL has dampened, delayed (like back horn) back wave but out of phase....

How does all this work?

Thanks,
Rick

diyAudio Moderator Emeritus
Joined 2001
By OB, I assume you mean Open Back. These are frequently called dipoles and I have little experience with them, although people are using them for subwoofers. My understanding is that you get cancellation if the baffle the driver is mounted on is less than half the wavelength of the bass note being played. That would mean a board 5 feet wide would have cancellation under 100 Hz. My understanding is that things are not so simple in real world rooms, where the back wave is bouncing off a nearby wall. That's all I can tell you-there are a couple of dipole threads underway-I am sure someone can help you.

I guess we all know that in the Closed Box there is only the front wave. No cancellation.