seeking resident woodworking/staining expert

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm getting close to finishing up my Kit281s, and have veneered them and stained them. The stain is just not soaking into areas as you can see below. My best guess is that I got overzealous with the sanding, and created some thin spots that are no obsorbing the stain. I need a product or technique that could help this out because right now it is driving me mad. Check out the pictures.

Thanks.

Attachments

• mvc-001f.jpg
    mvc-001f.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 358
Well, I don't know that I'm an expert, and can't offer a neato solution, but to answer *how* to avoid this problem:

Uneven absorption of stain by wood is quite normal and to be expected. To avoid it, you need to either use a gel stain, which will not penetrate deeply, or apply a coat of pre-stain sealer *before* stain.

I know of no fix other that removing what you have applied and starting over. Maybe somebody else will have a shortcut.

Staining Wood

I'm not an expert either, but I am into some woodworking. I think what you have is not that un-common, lots of wood will blotch. You could try an analine dye, you work the areas that are light, being a dye you kept applying, let dry apply again until you reach your desired colour. This technic gets as little tricky where the edges of the light and dark meet, but you can use water to pull out some of the dye. Analine dye is available at most woodworking speciality stores. Worst case scenario you will have to re-veneer. Good luck

Bob2