NS10M substitute - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th January 2010, 10:40 AM   #1
MIKET is offline MIKET  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to MIKET
Default NS10M substitute

I wanted to build my DIY replacement for the now obsolete Yamaha NS10M using some existing drivers from (P)eerless and (S)EAS, as a result I am calling these the PS10M. This is my first attempt on Paper, I do have the drivers in hand, so I hope to cut some wood in the next few weeks and get this project rolling.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nearfield.jpg (62.5 KB, 460 views)
Old 11th January 2010, 11:06 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I can place them in a smaller sealed box and get a similar low to the original Yamahas. The original NS10M is in a much smaller cabinet. 15" x 8.5" x 7.75" and sealed, on the other hand my design is 11.5" x 16.25" x 8" and ported. The real question is.....Is it more important to be the same or better (more extended frequency response)?
Old 12th January 2010, 02:12 AM   #3
DcibeL is offline DcibeL  Canada
diyAudio Member

As this speaker appears to be a replacement for your old speakers, and not an attempt to replicate the speaker, I don't think the naming convention is a good one. What you have here is a new speaker, it shares nothing in common with the NS10M.

Now if you want to do something along the lines of a "clone", the very least you will want to do is a frequency response of the NS10M, and attempt to replicate that tonal character with your new speaker.