NS10M substitute

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I wanted to build my DIY replacement for the now obsolete Yamaha NS10M using some existing drivers from (P)eerless and (S)EAS, as a result I am calling these the PS10M. This is my first attempt on Paper, I do have the drivers in hand, so I hope to cut some wood in the next few weeks and get this project rolling.

Attachments

• nearfield.jpg
    nearfield.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 548
I can place them in a smaller sealed box and get a similar low to the original Yamahas. The original NS10M is in a much smaller cabinet. 15" x 8.5" x 7.75" and sealed, on the other hand my design is 11.5" x 16.25" x 8" and ported. The real question is.....Is it more important to be the same or better (more extended frequency response)?

As this speaker appears to be a replacement for your old speakers, and not an attempt to replicate the speaker, I don't think the naming convention is a good one. What you have here is a new speaker, it shares nothing in common with the NS10M.

Now if you want to do something along the lines of a "clone", the very least you will want to do is a frequency response of the NS10M, and attempt to replicate that tonal character with your new speaker.

The crossover needs some work. There are a lot of things to consider when designing a crossover, a lot. At the very least, the tweeter is a couple dB more sensitive than the woofer, before any BSC, and you have no attenuation pad. I would recommend some more research before embarking on your own design.

MIKET said:
Is it more important to be the same or better?
That is a question that only you can answer.

Crossover Design

DcibeL,