Replacement for a 12 Ohm midrange

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi DIY'ers,

I am new to this beautiful forum. Been following as a visitor for a long time tough.
I have a question about replacing a 5" midrange of a Pioneer CS-R590 that I just got. (Fr.Range: 31-20000Hz, max power: 150W)
One of the midrange drivers has a little tear. I took it apart off the baffle and saw it is a 12 Ohm driver. I do not know any of the other parameters tough. The speaker itself is 8 Ohms as usual. Not being very good at resistor/caps calculation;

Do I have a chance to replace it with a 4, 8 or 6 Ohm driver with appropriate resistor/inductor?

Which impedance would be better? There are a lot of driver options for 4 and 8 but not for 6. (Based on PE)

Also which necessary resistor or inductor or any other component should I add to match the impedance from XO? (I hope, I have a chance to match an 8 Ohm driver of which too many options are available in the market)

Any input would be appreciated very much. I wish y'all a happy 2010.

Regards.

CS-R590 - sounds like a quite old model of Pioneer If is just a small tear then a simple driver cone repair can be made(if the cone is paper based) using pieces of tissue paper and diluted Elmer's glue - just google "repair tear in speaker cone" and there are lots of hits for step by step procedure if you have not done this before.

CS-R590 - sounds like a quite old model of Pioneer If is just a small tear then a simple driver cone repair can be made(if the cone is paper based) using pieces of tissue paper and diluted Elmer's glue - just google "repair tear in speaker cone" and there are lots of hits for step by step procedure if you have not done this before.

It's from 1988. I wouldn't call it vintage but not bad as a low end speaker.