First speaker design - please comment - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th May 2003, 05:23 PM   #1
sobazz is offline sobazz  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Default First speaker design - please comment

I'm currently working on my very first speaker project. Designing and calculating is a very tough process for me, since I'm really a newbie in this buisness.

The result is supposed to be a sealed 2-way standmount with an internal netto volume of around 6l (approx. 0.212 ft^3). So far I've chosen the Scan Speak 8530K01 for bass and midrange. I've not yet decided which tweeter to use. Any recommendations?

Click the image to open in full size.

Cone excursion at 1w

Cone excursion at 5w

Max SPL

The enclosure will be a plain MDF (19, maybe 22mm for front and back) box. Later I may want to make a better one. Are there any specific relationship between the sides I should stick to?

Please comment.
Old 10th May 2003, 06:08 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hmm... why is there a sharp edge at around 100hz (last graph)?
Old 11th May 2003, 01:58 AM   #3
Kanga is offline Kanga  Australia
diyAudio Member

Hi Sobazz. The mid-woofers you have chosen are very inefficient. How much amp power do you have, and what king of bass extension and loudness are you looking for?

Dennis Murhpy has an MTM design using this driver (bringing the efficiency up), paired with a Hiquphon OW1 tweeter. http://murphyblaster.com/content.php?f=revowlator.html

He also has a design using the driver with a HiVi research ribbon tweeter, but he says that he doesn't actually recommend that you build such a speaker, because its too insensitive and is not good value.
http://murphyblaster.com/content.php?f=revelator.html

Mick
Old 11th May 2003, 12:01 PM   #4
diyAudio Member