Asymmetrical crossover question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th August 2009, 05:52 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Asymmetrical crossover question

I'm new to asymmetrical XO. Usually I just use textbook XO.

Below is a picture of P13WH woofer measured nearfield (ignore the SPL). It follows either bessel or LR 2nd order highpass filter, almost perfectly.

The question is: Is it reasonable to simply let the driver rolloff by itself (no xo) and for the woofer I apply 2nd order lowpass LR (red curve on left).

What about the phase issue?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg assy.jpg (82.4 KB, 258 views)
Old 12th August 2009, 06:13 AM   #2
CLS is offline CLS  Taiwan
diyAudio Member

Somewhat confused here.

My understanding would be: you'll use this P13WH "woofer" as a mid, and add "another woofer" by <2nd order lowpass LR (red curve on left) >.

If so, I'd like to have at least the simplest HP filter to help reducing the cone excursion of the mid driver and forget about the symmetry of xo slopes.
Old 12th August 2009, 06:44 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi CLS,

Correct. I'm actually happy with the excursion issue as I don't play music that loud.

I guess I just have to build and measure the response and see if it's summed properly.
Old 12th August 2009, 06:54 AM   #4
ttan98 is online now ttan98  Australia
diyAudio Member

Try this Thread,

http://techtalk.parts-express.com/sh...20&postcount=1

you may find it useful.

Cheers.
Old 12th August 2009, 07:02 AM   #5
ttan98 is online now ttan98  Australia
diyAudio Member

Try this Thread,

http://techtalk.parts-express.com/sh...20&postcount=1

you may find it useful.

Cheers.
Old 12th August 2009, 09:29 AM   #6
rabbitz is offline rabbitz  Australia
diyAudio Member