Good book on Speaker Building?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Does anyone know a good book on building speakers?

I'm thinking about building my own speakers. I'm fairly good at wood working. So, now I need the equations. I don't want one of these books written for the sole purpose of promoting their software. I want a book that if I sat down with a piece of paper and scientific calculator, I could get the dimensions of the box.

I am an engineer, I can use a calculator. I don't need a GUI to do mathmatics.

Thanks,
pixie

Agreed, that is a great book. Just make sure you get the newest (6th) edition. There is added quite a bit to this edition compared to the older one.

Regards,
Uffe

PS: Heard a lot of good about "High Performance loudspeakers" (5th ed.) by Martin Colloms, but I haven't had a chance to look at it yet. It's (supposedly) a bit different from the one by Dickason, but contains lots of useful information. (Maybe others can clarify this a bit - I'm interested too :)

The loudspeaker cookbook ( Dickason) is great for hands on things, with easy(?) formulaes for most things, - one should however read the theory parts in order to understand how things work....
you can either have it the easy way,- a loudspeaker being a moving membrane in a box...or
you can start digging into the borderlines between practice and theory, what's really going on in there...
The "cookbook" will give you good answers both ways...
then- if you want to know some more, - or truly get around to finding out how much we still don't know... "High performance Loudspeakers" by Martin Colloms is truly a magnificent book,-- but now things are beginning to look like digging for pyramids.............