correct capacitor values

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there, a total noob here...

I've been searching the forum to an answer to this but to no avail.

I'm looking at replacing/rebuilding the crossovers on my speakers because they are no longer outputting anything through the tweeters. They are a couple of tannoy mercury mx1's.

I've located the equations and a funky calculator to give the correct capacitor values for the crossover frequency given in the manual.

However, I can't locate any capacitors with exactly the correct farad value. What should you do in this situation? Do you just select the nearest available cap? The same can be said for the inductors too....

Thanks in advance
Jon

Crossover "calculators" are completely useless for the most part. You'll want to replace parts with the same value currently in the crossover.

That said, you can use a multimeter to check that caps are not blown, check your inductors are not blown, and check that your tweeter is not blown. Basically, use a multimeter to check continuity of everything so you know what is wrong before you start changing out parts all willy nilly.

Cheers for that, I will invest in one and do the recommended checks. showing my lack of knowledge methinks!
Still, what would be the situation if I needed to replace the capacitors and the value of the caps in my speakers aren't available? Would it be curtains for my speakers or could i opt for a slightly different rating and compensate in another way or some such?

Hi jpjsenior, I might be able to help a bit ?

L x C

Just say your calculator came up with values of C = 4.42 uf & L = 0.64 mH;

0.64 x 4.42 = 2.83

You could choose a cap, 4.7 uf & an inductor 0.60mH

0.6 x 4.7 = 2.82

If you not happy with that buy larger inductors (or make your own) & reduce them to the value you want, & use more than 1 cap to get the exact value you require.

Steve