ARTA tweeter measurement problems

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Im having a hard time figuring out why I can not get Arta to give me a smooth response with running both tweeters in a test using pink noise.

Here is the FR Plot...

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

It looks out of phase ( or something similar, Im no expert) but I have swaped wires and Im using a DCX so I have changed the phase on each tweeter, I have modified everything and nothing will change. I have no idea what Im doing wrong.

Here are the indidual tweeter measurements

Left tweeter
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Right tweeter

The measurements are done center of my listening area in my HT room center point between the tweeters 8 feet back.

Im really stuck now as to why this is happening, I could have screwed something up but my DCX is identical for both drives, I have triple checked my wiring too.

Looks like comb-filtering effect. Nulls at approximately 4 KHz apart means a time difference of 0.125 ms (180 degrees phase shift) or a multiple of that. In distance this is 4.3 cm or a multiple. Try to carefully measure the distance to the tweeters from the mic position.

Why do you need to measure with both tweeters running?

breez said:
Looks like comb-filtering effect. Nulls at approximately 4 KHz apart means a time difference of 0.125 ms (180 degrees phase shift) or a multiple of that. In distance this is 4.3 cm or a multiple. Try to carefully measure the distance to the tweeters from the mic position.

Thanks, I will take that measurement.

Why? Im curious about my overall in room response and any Im curious to what Audyssey is EQing (before and after).

Originally I was just measuring individual drivers to setup my crossovers/EQ settings via my DCX.

breez said: