ARTA tweeter measurement problems - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st June 2009, 09:00 PM   #1
doug20 is offline doug20  United States
diyAudio Member

Default ARTA tweeter measurement problems

Im having a hard time figuring out why I can not get Arta to give me a smooth response with running both tweeters in a test using pink noise.

Here is the FR Plot...

Click the image to open in full size.

It looks out of phase ( or something similar, Im no expert) but I have swaped wires and Im using a DCX so I have changed the phase on each tweeter, I have modified everything and nothing will change. I have no idea what Im doing wrong.

Here are the indidual tweeter measurements

Left tweeter

Right tweeter

The measurements are done center of my listening area in my HT room center point between the tweeters 8 feet back.

Im really stuck now as to why this is happening, I could have screwed something up but my DCX is identical for both drives, I have triple checked my wiring too.
Old 21st June 2009, 09:19 PM   #2
breez is offline breez  Finland
diyAudio Member

Looks like comb-filtering effect. Nulls at approximately 4 KHz apart means a time difference of 0.125 ms (180 degrees phase shift) or a multiple of that. In distance this is 4.3 cm or a multiple. Try to carefully measure the distance to the tweeters from the mic position.

Why do you need to measure with both tweeters running?
Old 21st June 2009, 09:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by breez